President Obama has named four Alaska teachers among 213 math and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. These awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity schools. The educators will receive

their awards in Washington, D.C. on September 8.

Christopher Benshoof of Lathrop High School in Fairbanks received a 7-12 math award.

The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process at the state level. Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. “The recipients of this award are integral to ensuring our students are equipped with critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are vital to our Nation’s success,” President Obama said.

For more information about Mr. Benshoof and this prestigious award, visit his PAEMST profile page.