View the Competition Live!

Didn’t make it to the AK Academic Decathlon in person?  Check out our Live Stream of the following events:

Super Quiz, Friday, February 24th

Awards Banquet, Saturday, February 25th

View Live Stream of USAD 2017 SuperQuiz
View Live Stream of USAD 2017 Banquet

AAD Board of Directors

 

 

Liz Boario - Member at Large
Affiliation: University of Alaska
  • meboario@uaa.alaska.edu
Sam Bourgeois - Board Member
Affiliation: GCI
  • sbourgeois@gci.com
Sharon Boyette - Board Member
Affiliation: Solstice Alaska Consulting
  • sboyette@gci.net
Duane Epton - Speech Chairman
Affiliation: Alaska Airlines, Toastmasters
  • duaneepton@gci.net
Al Fleetwood - Member at Large
Affiliation: Retired Businessman
  • apfleetwood@gci.net
Sara Huff - Essay Chairwoman
Affiliation: GCI
  • shuff@gci.com
Wilson Hughes - President Emeritus
Affiliation: GCI
  • whughes@gci.com
Roger Hull - Vice President
Affiliation: University of Alaska
  • rogerhull@gci.net
Pam Lloyd - President Emeritus
Affiliation: GCI
  • plloyd@gci.com
Bill Miernyk - Board Member
Affiliation: Retired Businessman
  • miernyk@gci.net
Ben Newman - Scoring Chairman
Affiliation: State of Alaska, Former AAD Decathlete
  • Bfnewman@bfnewman.com
Bob Ormberg - Fundraising Chairman
Affiliation: GCI
  • bormberg@gci.com
Danny Parrish - Treasurer
Affiliation: GCI
  • dparrish@gci.com
Jennifer Slaughter - President and Interview Chairwoman
Affiliation: GCI
  • jslaughter@gci.com
Juliana Wayman - Secretary
Affiliation: GCI
  • Juliana.Wayman@uui-alaska.com

Decathlon Winners

Lath-IMG 5391©2017 Lisa J. Seifert
2017 Overall Winner
Lathrop High School
View Decathlon Winners

Recent News

Lathrop
Lathrop High School takes fourth place at Nationals.
May 1, 2017

Lathrop High School takes 4th place in their division at the USAD National Competition in Madison, WI. Here’s how they did:

View News Archive

Strategic Planning Objectives

1) Build Strong School Programs and Increase Participation

  • Have a presence at conferences for school administrators and school boards to promote and market the Alaska Academic Decathlon
  • Send an informational packet to the Department of Education and school administrators that shows how our program supports and encourages a wide range of student academic levels while promoting the high standards for high school students developed by the Department of Education
  • Conduct a coaches and prospective coaches clinic. On-line Coaches’ Handbook updated yearly
  • Send two State Championship teams to the national competition if current program is continued by USAD
  • Seek grant money from USAD for curriculum materials for schools participating for the first time

2) Maintain Healthy Finances

  • Maintain a long term primary sponsor
  •  Promote a summertime fund raiser
  •  Continually seek new sponsors and encourage previous sponsors to be sustaining
  •  Investigate the benefits of an AAD Foundation
  •  Investigate options for a more aggressive investment strategy for unencumbered funds
  •  Seek grants
  •  Develop a data base of Alums and ask them to support the Decathlon with a donation
  •  Conduct a yearly budget review
  •  Ensure timely tax filings

3) Ensure Effective Overall Management and Effective Governance Body

  • Hold an annual work session to update the Strategic Plan
  • Encourage more Board member and volunteer participation
  • Develop a Board of Directors with diverse business backgrounds in the community
  • Conduct an employee contract review on a yearly basis and articulate clearly to staff the annual mission to be accomplished

4) Ensure Stakeholder Satisfaction

  • Conduct surveys of the organization to better understand objections and concerns
    • Coaches survey
    • Volunteers survey
    • School administrators survey
  •  Continue a student feed back session
  •  Maintain a high level of communication with all stakeholders

5) Increase Name Recognition

  • Develop and maintain a State web site
  • Continue with newsletter and press releases
  • Seek a Board member from the media
  • Update brochure annually